Out-and-Out, Think Different, Way Different!

Out-and-Out Art Exhibit

OK, so before I write anything else, let me dispel one major misconception or erroneous perception some have of me, that I like to toot my own horn!  Contrary to popular belief, this is not the case. That I love to take pictures and post them on my social media platforms, yes, I’m guilty of that, and that I can be a ham sometimes, well, that’s true as well, but I’ve never really written about me or asked for kudos on things; that’s just awkward and quite frankly, it makes me feel weird.

“Felicidade” Sao Paulo Pride 2006 By Antonio Velasco (Ave)

So, why am I saying all this? Well, for the first time ever in my life as an aficionado-amateur photographer, three of my pieces of work will be displayed at the upcoming Out-and-Out art show at ChimMaya in East Los Angeles this coming Sunday, July 29th, making this, my official artistic debut as a photographer!

Those of you who know me well, know that I love art and that I love supporting local artists, especially if they are of a disadvantaged minority group. And ChimMaya, one of LA’s premier best-hidden secrets in the art gallery world, promotes and supports Latino artists from all over the country.  And for disclaimer purposes, I am also a supporter and patron of ChimMaya, because I love the artwork they showcase and also believe in supporting my Latino, Black, Asian and LGBT artists.

So, with that said, this year marks the third annual art showcase of LGBT artists for the gallery.  What started three years ago as an effort of inclusion and diversity, now has become one of the LGBT’s community most appealing and unique exposé of artwork.

Antonio Velasco (Ave) con su “Meat” de Vargassal!

Last year, I purchased a piece by Maestro Vargassal titled Meat and this year I’m honored to be part of a collective of artists, which will display their LGBT-themed art at a very special place in LA, Chimmaya.

Juan Solis- My first piece from ChimMaya!

Artists participating, aside from yours truly (Antonio Velasco), include headliner Hector Silva, Juan Solis (my first ChimMaya purchase), Ariel Vargassal (Meat), Tony de Carlo, Alma Lopez, Joey Terrill, Chris Lopez, Carmine Santaniello, Tom Acevedo, Francisco Cabas, Fernando Reyes, Violetta Sorcini, Riddle, Dalila Paola Mendez, Felix d’Eon, Rene Capone, Richard Taddei, Curry Mendes, Manuel Acevedo, Jesse Hinostroza, Raul Pizarro, Angel Villanueva, Art Lopez, Paulo Lima (my dear Brazilian friend and artiste extraordinaire), Christina Amezquita, Anthony Mitchell, Surly Gurly, and Marla Hidalgo.

So, don’t miss this amazing show and try to attend the opening reception on Sunday, July 19th, 2012!  I will be there.

Show Title: ‘Out-and-Out’

Show Title: ‘New Works’ by Hector Silva

Opening Reception: Sunday, July 29th

Time: 3:00 pm – 8:00 pm

Show Dates: July 29th – August 29th

Location: ChimMaya Gallery

5283 E. Beverly Blvd

Los Angeles, CA 90022

Leave a Reply

